Uber Technologies Inc has been one of the world’s fastest-growing companies since its rideshare app was released in 2010. For customers, Uber tends to offer lower rates and superior convenience compared to traditional taxis, and for drivers, Uber offers a flexible, part-time income.
Drivers who would like to work for Uber must complete an online screening, during which Uber will examine their criminal history and driving record. The specific eligibility requirements vary depending on the location, but in most areas, a recent DUI conviction will bar a driver from working for Uber. If a current Uber driver is convicted of DUI, it is likely that he or she will no longer be able to work for the service. Legislation is currently pending and looks like may be passed in Florida that will add additional screening and insurance requirements. Under the current version of the proposed legislation in Florida, a DUI will preclude someone from driving for a ridesharing company like Uber of Lyft for five years.
You also may not be able to work for Uber if you have been convicted of a crime that involves drugs, theft, or violence. Even certain misdemeanor offenses could render you ineligible to drive for Uber.
If you drive for Uber and you are facing DUI charges, your first call should be to a criminal attorney. Depending on the facts of your case, it may be possible to convince the courts to reduce the charges or penalties or to dismiss your case altogether.
Michael D. Leader is a DUI lawyer in Fort Lauderdale who will evaluate your case, investigate your arrest, and structure a comprehensive defense based on your unique situation. As your criminal defense attorney, Mr. Leader will make himself available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Call 954-523-2020 to schedule a free initial consultation at Leader & Leader P.A.
What Other Eligibility Requirements Must I Meet to Drive for Uber?
In addition to having a clean criminal history and driving record, you must also have a vehicle that meets specific criteria set by Uber. These include:
- The model year must be 2007 or newer;
- It cannot feature any commercial advertising;
- There must not be any significant cosmetic damage;
- It must pass a vehicle inspection; and
- It must be a minivan or four-door car.
Does the Vehicle Need to Be Registered in My Name?
No. The vehicle can be registered in someone else’s name. Also, Uber accepts both temporary and official registration papers.
Do I Need Auto Insurance to Drive for Uber?
Yes. Although Uber drivers are covered by the company’s commercial insurance policy when they are on the clock, they must carry their own insurance that meets the state minimums. In Florida, the minimum insurance requirements are as follows:
- $10,000 per person for bodily injury;
- $20,000 per accident for bodily injury;
- $10,000 per accident for property damage;
- $10,000 per person in uninsured motorist coverage;
- $20,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage; and
- $10,000 in personal injury protection.
As noted above, if the current legislation passes in Florida setting requirements for ridesharing services, the coverage requirements will increase to $50,000 for death and bodily injury per person and $100,000 per incident.
What Should I Do If I Drive for Uber and I Am Facing DUI Charges?
A DUI conviction can affect your relationships, career, and freedoms. If you drive for Uber and you are facing DUI charges, contact a DUI lawyer as soon as possible to discuss your potential defense strategies.
Michael D. Leader will evaluate your case in a free initial consultation. Mr. Leader is a criminal attorney in Fort Lauderdale who has the highest possible rating – an AV Preeminent rating – from the Martindale-Hubbell Bar Register.
Call 954-523-2020 today to schedule an appointment. You can learn more about DUI laws in Florida by visiting http://dui-lawyers.usattorneys.com/florida.