According to Section 782.071 of The 2016 Florida Statutes, vehicular homicide is the killing of a person or an unborn child by an injury to the mother, caused by the operation of a motor vehicle by another in a reckless manner that is likely to cause death or significant bodily harm.
If you are facing vehicular homicide charges, it is critical that you consult a criminal defense lawyer immediately. Depending on the facts of your arrest, you might face second- or even first-degree felony charges.
Michael D. Leader is a criminal lawyer in Fort Lauderdale with a reputation for winning cases. He will evaluate your arrest and structure a defense based on the unique facts of your case. Call 954-523-2020 today to schedule a free initial consultation at Leader & Leader P.A.
What Are the Potential Consequences of a Vehicular Homicide Conviction?
As previously mentioned, vehicular homicide could be charged as a felony in the first degree or a felony in the second degree. Your specific charges will determine the potential consequences of a conviction.
You will face first-degree felony charges if:
- You knew, or should have known, at the time of the accident that the accident occurred; and
- You did not provide information and render aid as outlined in 316.062.
Even if you did not know that the wreck caused an injury or death, you may still face first-degree felony charges.
A second-degree felony conviction in Florida may come with a fine of up to $10,000 and up to 15 years in prison. Although the maximum fine is the same for a first-degree felony conviction, the maximum prison sentence increases to 30 years. In addition to a fine and prison time, the court may order you to serve 120 hours of community service in a hospital or trauma center that regularly treats motor-vehicle accident victims.
What Is the “Duty to Give Information and Render Aid?”
As previously mentioned, vehicular homicide is usually a second-degree felony charge, but the defendant will face first-degree felony charges if he or she knew, or should have known, at the time of the accident that the accident occurred, and did not provide information and render aid as outlined in s. 316.062.
According to s. 316.062, any driver who is involved in a wreck that causes damage to a vehicle or property, or a death or injury to a person, must provide his or her address, name and vehicle registration number. That person must also show his or her permit or license to drive if it is requested by:
- A person who suffered an injury in the crash;
- An occupant or driver involved in the crash; or
- A police officer at the scene of the accident who is investigating the wreck.
That person must also provide reasonable assistance to any person injured in the accident. He or she must transport or arrange transport of the person to a surgeon, physician or hospital for surgical or other medical treatment if it appears that such treatment is necessary, or if the injured person requests medical treatment.
If you are facing vehicular homicide charges in Florida, contact Leader & Leader P.A. Call 954-523-2020 today to schedule a free consultation with a criminal lawyer in Fort Lauderdale.