Fort Lauderdale, FL- Are you facing a DUI charge in Fort Lauderdale? Is it your third DUI charge? If you answered “Yes” to either or both of those questions, you might already realize you have some serious legal decisions to make. Amongst many others, the consequences you are facing include jail time and the long-term loss of your driver’s license.
If you are facing your third DUI charge, contact Michael D. Leader, a DUI defense lawyer in Fort Lauderdale, Florida to talk about your charges and the possible defense strategies that can be utilized in your case.
A third DUI charge in Florida is one that you need to take seriously because the penalties are much harsher than for your first or second DUI. Under Florida DUI statutes, if your third offense occurred less than ten years from your second offense, it can be filed as a FELONY offense putting you at risk of becoming a convicted felon for life and exposed to five years in Florida State Prison. If you enter a plea or are found guilty, you face a minimum mandatory 30 days in jail and fines up to $5,000. You face up to one year in jail if your third DUI arrest occurred outside a ten (10) year period of your prior offenses. If your breath or blood reading is .15 or higher, there are enhanced penalties regarding the minimum fine ($4000.00) and lengthier period that you may required to use an interlock device on your vehicle.
On top of the legal consequences, there are administrative headaches you will have to deal with. For one, your car is going to be immobilized at your own expense for 90 days. On top of that will lose your license 10 years (if 3rd within 10) or five years is your three offenses are not within ten years but your 3rd is less than 5 years after your second! That is a long time but it may be possible to apply for a hardship a number of years depending on your situation. If you apply for a hardship license, you must attend a DUI course and have an ignition interlock device in your car for at least two years. What’s more, it is possible for you to have your license revoked and given no chances for limited driving privileges.
The costs of installing an ignition interlock and reinstating your license are in addition to your legal penalties and fines. You will also pay significantly higher insurance premiums once you are able to have your license reinstated. When all fines, administrative costs, other penalties (not even considering the enormous increase in insurance you may confront), a third DUI can cost well over $10,000.00, so it’s worth retaining an attorney to fight your charges. Don’t be reluctant to retain a DUI lawyer because of the cost. Florida DUI defense attorney Michael D. Leader understands most people don’t anticipate facing legal fees so
Whether you are able to avoid a DUI conviction depends on the circumstances surrounding your arrest and your ability to counter the evidence against you. That is why you need someone who understands how to build a DUI defense or more importantly, how to pick the State’s case apart. Michael D. Leader is a highly-rated and well recognized DUI lawyer in Fort Lauderdale, Florida who can give your case the attention it deserves, giving you have a greater chance of mitigating the potential consequences you are facing if you are convicted. Mr. Leader will work hard on your behalf to assist you in an effort to avoid a third DUI conviction, so you are urged to contact his office today at 954-523-2020 and set up a consultation. You need a solid defense if you are facing a third DUI charge and Michael D. Leader can provide you with one.