Driving under the influence is one of the most common criminal offenses in America – and the Sunshine State is no exception.
According to Florida Department of Highway Safety Motor Vehicles, Florida courts convicted more than 30,000 people for driving under the influence in 2011. That same year, Florida law enforcement – including highway patrol, state police and sheriffs’ departments – issued more than 50,000 DUI tickets.
DUI convictions often come with steep fines, lost driving privileges and even jail time. In addition to administrative fees, a DUI conviction can threaten your career if it involves driving.
The consequences of a DUI extend beyond financial penalties. In Florida, those convicted of an enhanced first offense (minor child in the car at the time of the offense or proving a sample of breath or blood reflecting a breath/blood alcohol level over a .150) or second and subsequent DUI offenses must install an ignition interlock device on their vehicles.
Fortunately, there may be effective defense strategies that apply to your case. If you would like to speak with a Fort Lauderdale DUI lawyer, contact Michael D. Leader of Leader & Leader P.A. Our team of attorneys have more than eight decades of combined legal experience. Mr. Leader handles DUI cases all over the State of Florida.
To schedule a free initial consultation, call 954-523-2020. Our office is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week for clients with pressing criminal concerns and/or new criminal case consultations.
How Long Will I Have to Use the Ignition Interlock Device?
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety Motor Vehicles, [s.316.1937(2)(d), Florida Statutes] if convicted of an enhanced or second or subsequent DUI offense, then you will lose your license for a period ranging from six months to lifetime revocation depending upon the facts and circumstances of your case. If and when your license is eligible for reinstatement, the court must order that you install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. First-time offenders may also face this penalty depending on the nature of the offense although it is not required by law for non enhanced first offenses.
You must fit the interlock device to your vehicle for at least six months following your DUI conviction on an enhanced first offense and two years to life for additional offenses.
How Does an IID Work?
Vehicles with an IID cannot start until the driver breathes into the device for a BAC measurement. After 5 minutes, you will need to breathe again to keep the engine running. This process will continue throughout the journey – usually at intervals of approximately 30 minutes. The device records this data and sends it to the Florida DMV.
Ignition Interlock Costs
The law also requires that you pay for the installation and regular calibration of the device, and you must report to a calibration facility each month. According to the Florida DMV, installing the device costs approximately $70, and the monthly calibration fee is $67.50. You must also pay a refundable deposit of $100 for the device. If you are unable to pay for the device, the court may allocate part of your DUI fine toward the installation costs. However, we have heard of some providers having higher installation and monthly fees.
If you are facing DUI charges in Florida, contact a Fort Lauderdale dui defense attorney for advice. Michael D. Leader of Leader and Leader P.A. can evaluate the prosecution’s case against you, as well as the facts of your case, to identify an appropriate defense strategy. Schedule an appointment today by calling 954-523-2020.