Since 2013, there has been a marked increase in the number of hit and run incidences in the state of Florida. Law enforcement are working hard to raise awareness of this offense and to help reduce the total number of hit and run crashes. Those who have been injured in an incident involving another vehicle may want to consider enlisting the help of legal professionals like the Parnall Law Firm Personal Injury Attorneys in Albuquerque.
Team of Emergency Medical Services workers providing first aid at the scene of a car crash
According to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, hit and run fatalities in Florida increased 23 percent from 2013 to 2014, and crashes in general increased 7 percent. In terms of traffic accidents on state roads, at least 25 percent are hit and run crashes.
If anyone has been involved in a hit and run, they may need to use Uplift legal Funding to help them pursue a legal case as they wouldn’t have any details of the person who had hit them. Car accidents can have devasting effects on lives and not being able to hold someone responsible can be frustrating for all of those involved. If you are facing criminal charges in the state of Florida – whether for hit and run, or another offense – call Leader & Leader P.A. Michael D. Leader is a Fort Lauderdale criminal lawyer, and he has extensive litigation experience. Together, our attorneys have practiced law for more than 80 combined years, giving us the knowledge and resources to craft your defense. To schedule a consultation, call our office today at 954-523-2020.
There are several laws that govern hit and run crashes in Florida. Here are three of the most important:
- Unattended Property or Vehicle
According to Florida statute 316.063, if a driver crashes into personal property, he or she has a duty to locate the owner of the damaged vehicle or property. If the driver is not able to find the owner, he or she must leave a note with full contact details including address, name and registration information. This law also requires that the at-fault party reports the incident to police.
- Death and Personal Injury
Florida Statute 361.027 details the legal process that begins when a driver is in a crash that causes injuries or fatalities. The law requires that the driver remains on the scene and provides all affected individuals with relevant information and contact details. The driver must also offer reasonable assistance to the injured.
- Occupied Vehicles
If a driver crashes into a vehicle that is carrying passengers, the at-fault motorist must remain at the scene to complete his or her statutory duties, according to Florida Statute 316.061. These include the duty to provide full contact details and the driver’s license number, and to notify the relevant authorities about the incident. Failure to do so may result in second-degree misdemeanor charges.
Florida traffic laws are often complex, and not knowing their subtleties can land you in serious trouble. This is why people facing traffic-related criminal charges should consult an attorney for guidance. If you have suffered a car crash in another region, for example in Canada, a lawyer from that region would be needed, such as Diamond and Diamond. However, for Florida based issues, don’t hesitate to contact us.
If you are facing charges for hit and run, or leaving the scene of an accident, contact Leader and Leader P.A. A lawyer from our firm can explain the potential penalties and craft a sound defense.
Michael D. Leader is a Fort Lauderdale criminal attorney with extensive experience handling hit and run cases. To learn your rights, call Mr. Leader today at 954-523-2020 to schedule an appointment and begin building your defense.