Driving under the influence is a severe offense in the state of Florida. A significant percentage of fatal car accidents occur on state roads because drivers were under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and law enforcement takes DUI charges seriously. If you are facing DUI charges in Florida, you should not take them lightly.
When should you contact a criminal lawyer?
If you are facing DUI charges, a Fort Lauderdale criminal attorney may be able to help. Getting advice from an expert can prevent you from incriminating yourself or making critical mistakes during the defense process.
At Leader & Leader P.A., we have more than six decades of combined legal experience, and Michael Leader has received recognition by the Martindale-Hubbell Bar Register for his ability in the courtroom. We are available 24 hours per day to evaluate your charges during an initial consultation. Call us today at 954-523-2020 to schedule an appointment.
One of the most common questions pertaining to driving under the influence is also one of the most difficult to answer: How many drinks can you have before you are too drunk to drive?
How many drinks is too many?
There are several factors that influence how many drinks you can safely consume before getting behind the wheel. These include the nature of the drink, your weight, how much you have eaten and how fast you consumed the alcohol. Progressive provides a comprehensive calculator to establish approximately how much alcohol you can drink depending on these variables, but they recommend using this information with caution.
Florida Blood Alcohol Content Levels
According to the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles, it is important to remember that even a small amount of alcohol can increase your chance of getting into a crash. The only accurate way to determine if it is safe to drive after consuming alcohol is to test your blood alcohol content.
Police will test your BAC if they suspect you are driving under the influence. In the state of Florida, your BAC must be less than 0.02 percent if you are under 21, less than 0.04 percent if you are a commercial driver and less than 0.8 percent if you are older than 21. Police will arrest you and suspend your license if your BAC is over the legal limit, and you may face serious penalties, including fines and even jail time.
If you are facing serious criminal charges like driving under the influence, Fort Lauderdale DUI lawyer Michael Leader can help. At Leader & Leader P.A., we handle criminal cases involving DUI, drug possession and hit-and-run charges throughout the state of Florida.
Call us today at 954-523-2020 to schedule an appointment. We can arrange a free initial consultation, during which we will outline what you can expect over the coming weeks. We can also help establish the basis for your defense.