House Bill 681 has passed through the Florida House of Representatives, and a similar bill is now awaiting action in the senate. According to one Broward County DUI attorney, if passed and signed into law, the legislation will change the way that DUI cases are handled in Florida moving forward.
The legislation that would go into effect in July, if signed into law, would require those convicted of a DUI to have ignition interlock devices installed in their cars. The device would prevent the car from being started if the driver registered a BAC of 0.025% or higher. The law would apply to first-time offenders and they would be required to have the device in their vehicles for a six-month time period.
Currently, between 5,000 and 6,000 drivers are using ignition interlock devices. If the bill goes into effect, 24,000 drivers who have been convicted of DUI in Florida, including many Broward County drivers, will be required to install the device. The legislation provides drivers the opportunity to lease the device from the state for a $67.50 monthly fee, plus a one-time $70 installation fee.
Regardless of the outcome of the legislation, a DUI conviction with or without a required device is not something anyone wants. If you have been arrested for DUI in Broward County , speak to reputable DUI attorney immediately. Your Broward County DUI attorney can quite possibly get the charges dropped, or at least reduced. If there is no DUI on your record, you will not be required to install the breath alcohol ignition interlock device in your vehicle, nor to pay the monthly leasing fee.
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Broward County, then Broward County DUI attorney Michael Leader at Leader & Leader, PA, will be able to provide an experienced, aggressive DUI defense. With more than 68 years of combined experience to defend you, our goal is to protect your rights and explore every option. We serve Miami-Dade, Broward, Palm Beach, and Monroe counties in state and federal court criminal matters. For more information, visit http://criminallawleader.com/ or call 954.523.2020. Initial consultations available 24 hours, 7 days a week via telephone.